iOS 16 will let you not send and edit texts on your iPhone. Here’s how it works

It isn’t completely out of the query to ship a whole lot of textual content messages in a day, particularly when you’re half of a giant group dialog. With so many messages going backwards and forwards, you could be anticipated to make a mistake or two.

Often although, this isn’t an issue. The recipient could make minor grammatical errors, and when you ship a message to the incorrect particular person, you’ll be able to often observe up with a easy “sorry” and all is nicely. So it’s not.

Generally a textual content message error can get you in hassle or result in embarrassment, that is why it’s best to be capable of Point out any message and edit what you despatched Which you may lastly be capable of do with iOS 16.

don’t miss: 5 hidden iOS 16 options and settings you may wish to know

Apple introduced these new texting options for the iPhone simply in time WWDC Occasion in June. Different new options coming to iPhone embrace New lock display customization choices And the Apple Pay Later. SharePlay is added to messages.

We’ll clarify how these two new texting options work. And if you wish to discover iOS 16 now, earlier than the general public launch, right here it’s Methods to obtain and set up iOS 16 second beta in your iPhone and iPad.

Edit messages you’ve got already despatched

In case you use messaging instruments like Slack, you’ve got doubtless edited at the least one – or 100 – of the messages you despatched. Whether or not you misspelled or your message comprises incorrect information, the edit function is an effective way to make your corrections shortly. With iOS 16, additionally, you will be capable of edit your despatched messages out of your iPhone inside quarter-hour of sending.

To edit a textual content message, you may have to activate Messages and go to any thread that makes use of iMessage, which you most likely know by blue textual content. This function is not going to work with SMS textual content messages (inexperienced texts). Now, faucet and maintain your finger on the message you want to edit. This may convey up the Tapback Suggestions and Fast Actions menu. Lastly, faucet launch.

Edit a text message on iOS 16

Even when you edit a textual content message, the recipient will nonetheless be capable of see any previous messages.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

The textual content message will then be editable. You possibly can delete the whole message, repair any errors, or add extra textual content to it. As soon as completed, Click on the blue verify mark button on the appropriate facet to save lots of your modifications. You possibly can solely edit one message as much as 5 instances.

An executable editor button will seem beneath your edited textual content message. The particular person on the opposite finish will even know that the message has been edited, and in the event that they click on on it Editedall earlier variations of your textual content message will seem above the modified textual content message, in gentle grey chat bubbles.

Instantly recall any messages you despatched by mistake

Unintended messages happen very often. Maybe you clicked the submit button whenever you meant to pick out an emoji. Or perhaps you simply despatched messages to the incorrect particular person. Both means, you can recall these messages utilizing iOS 16. Apart from the message modifying function, you solely have 2 minutes to unsend a textual content.

To cancel sending a textual content messagelaunch the Messages app, faucet and maintain the message (blue textual content solely) you wish to unsend, then faucet Undo Ship.

The textual content message will disappear out of your dialog thread, by you and the recipient. A message will seem in your thread, stating that your message was not despatched, however the recipient could have already seen it.

Not Sending Text Message on iOS 16

You solely have 2 minutes to unsend a textual content message.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Sadly, if the opposite particular person is working something older than iOS 16, the message is not going to really be unsent regardless that your cellphone will say so.

The recipient will see a grey textual content standing message that claims, “[Name] Unsend a message” in the event that they’ve already seen the textual content. That is much like the delete message function that apps like WhatsApp and Sign have already got, which additionally show an identical message after the textual content has been recalled.

Whilst you’re ready for these new options to reach, try what’s new Swap to Apple Maps. Additionally, right here Apple’s new MacBook Air.


Now play:
Watch this:

See all the things introduced at Apple WWDC 2022


14:37