Is BeReal safe? How to enhance your security in the app

  • BeReal is secure to make use of, so long as you might be cautious who you ship the images to.
  • You could be certain that you don’t embrace any private or delicate data inside your BeReal images.
  • BeReal does not take your knowledge greater than some other social media app, like Instagram or Snapchat.

The brand new social media app BeReal has reached the highest of each ‘Most Downloaded Apps’ chart just lately. The essential idea behind that is you could solely take one photograph per day, and also you by no means know when that day will occur.

However earlier than you utilize any new social media app – regardless of how common it’s – you need to take time to see whether it is actually secure to make use of.

That is why we have checked out BeReal’s privateness coverage and put collectively this information on each bit of information and knowledge BeReal takes in, the way it compares to different apps, and what you are able to do to remain secure whereas utilizing it.

What sorts of knowledge does BeReal see?

Generally, we will divide the kind of knowledge that BeReal sees into three classes: Private InformationAnd the System knowledgeAnd the Content material knowledge.

Private Information

To join BeReal, you could present your identify, date of start and telephone quantity. BeReal makes use of this knowledge to establish you while you log in, and whereas solely your identify is public, they preserve it All knowledge on their servers. It stays on these servers till three years after you final used the app, or till you contact BeReal and request that it’s deleted.

In addition they ask you to create a username. This isn’t as private as different items of knowledge, however if you happen to use the identical username throughout a number of apps, it may be used to search out these different accounts.

Lastly, BeReal will repeatedly ask you to provide the app entry to your telephone’s contact checklist. Doing so will let you see which of your contacts even have BeReal accounts, so you may simply add them to your folks checklist – nevertheless it additionally signifies that all of their telephone numbers can be saved to BeReal servers.

A message in the BeReal app asking the user to allow the app to search their contacts.

BeReal will ask you to look your contact checklist.

be practical; William Antonelli / Insider


BeReal guarantees that it doesn’t give any private data to 3rd events, and there’s no proof that BeReal’s safety is compromised in any approach. However you need to all the time stay cautious about giving social media firms your data.

System knowledge

When you open BeReal, it robotically is aware of what sort of system you are utilizing, what model of iOS or Android you will have, and your IP tackle. That is how most web sites and apps work.

Your IP tackle additionally tells BeReal your present public location. Nevertheless it’s often no extra particular than town you are in, and you may even spoof your IP location with a VPN.

Lastly, BeReal is aware of how usually you open the app. This isn’t very delicate data, however some folks could not wish to register the app each time they open it.

BeReal retains all this data for 2 years.

Content material knowledge

And now, the large stuff.

Each time you put up a photograph to BeReal, that photograph is saved to BeReal’s servers. The identical goes for any feedback you present or RealMojis – reactions that use an actual image of you – that you just present. They keep there till three years after you final used the app, or till you contact BeReal.

BeReal is not the one one who can save these. Anybody who sees your posts and feedback in BeReal can movie them and doubtlessly share them with others.

That is why you should not add anybody you do not belief as a good friend on BeReal. And if you happen to’re posting one thing you do not wish to share outdoors of your internal circle, do not put up it to the general public discovery web page.

A photo taken in the BeReal app, with the Visibility option highlighted

In case your BeReal put up is about to “uncover”, will probably be public.

be practical; William Antonelli / Insider


Additionally, be sure you do not by accident take an image of something that would get you into bother at work — corresponding to inner firm spreadsheets or commerce secrets and techniques. Jane Harrison, head of labor legislation at British legislation agency Richard Nelson LLP, even warns that workers who publish delicate work data may very well be fired or uncovered to authorized dangers.

While you put up a photograph on BeReal, it’ll ask on your present location. This location is shared with BeReal (who retains it for 3 years) and anybody who sees your photograph. It’s by no means a good suggestion to share your actual location on-line, so it’s best to disable this setting.

Taking photos signifies that it’s important to give BeReal entry to the digicam. And to avoid wasting images, you could give them entry to your telephone’s digicam roll. BeReal is not completely clear about how lengthy they preserve this knowledge, nevertheless it takes at the least two years after you final posted a photograph.

Insider Takeaway: BeReal is Comparatively Protected

It’s true that BeReal takes and shops an applicable quantity of information. And if you happen to’re involved concerning the huge firms discovering out about your private data, it most likely is not price creating an account on BeReal.

However within the grand scheme of issues, BeReal isn’t any extra harmful than some other social media app.

If something, it is safer. Platforms like Fb and Twitter tackle every thing BeReal does, however in addition they preserve a detailed eye on your entire pursuits, political views, search historical past, and even latest purchases. In comparison with them, BeReal could be very restricted in scope.

As we talked about earlier than, BeReal has not confronted any type of knowledge breaches to date. And since that you must enter a novel code every time you log in, your account has a substantial amount of regular safety.

If (or when) BeReal provides extra options, this might change. However for now, BeReal is simply as safe — or at the least, as safe as any social media app might be today.

You’ll be able to ask BeReal to delete your knowledge early

BeReal retains most of your private data for at the least two years after it was collected, even if you happen to delete your account. However if you wish to erase this knowledge early, you may ask BeReal to take action.

To contact BeReal, you may both ship an e-mail to contact@bere.alor you may ship an e-mail to BeReal, 30/32 boulevard de Sébastopol, 75004 Paris France.

There isn’t any assure that they may obey each request, however they fight to answer each request.

Easy methods to restrict the knowledge that BeReal can see

Not all knowledge you need BeReal is necessary. This implies you could enhance your privateness by limiting what BeReal can see.

In case you are utilizing an iPhone, open the Settings app and scroll all the way down to the Apps checklist, then choose be practical. Right here you may flip off BeReal location permissions and entry to your contacts and digicam.

In your Android system, open the Settings app and faucet appsafter which All appsafter which be practical. Faucet Permissionsand you may select whether or not you might be allowed to entry your digicam, contacts, location, and extra.

Pages on both iPhone and Android allow you to choose how much BeReal will have on your phone.

Each iPhone and Android let you change the entry settings in BeReal.

William Antonelli / Insider


Simply notice that you just technically want to provide BeReal entry to the digicam to make use of a lot of the app – you may’t put up images or see different folks’s images with out it.